October 4, 2012 - The Caylor School of Nursing (CSON) at Lincoln Memorial University (LMU) has received approval to expand its offerings on the LMU main campus in Harrogate, Tenn., to include the generic Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) degree program beginning in the Fall of 2013.

The University’s successful BSN degree program was launched at the LMU-Cedar Bluff extended learning site in 2010 and is designed to allow students from area two-year and four-year schools to have a seamless transition in their pursuit of an undergraduate nursing degree.

“The Caylor School of Nursing is excited to bring the BSN program to the LMU main campus,” said Dr. Mary Anne Modrcin, dean of the CSON. “With this move we will be able to offer both of our BSN options, as well as the ASN and MSN degree programs, at the Harrogate campus and will be able to continue expanding nursing education opportunities for the people of this region and beyond.”

The CSON offers a variety of degree pathways for nurses at all stages of their careers. The CSON offers the Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN), RN-BSN, BSN and Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) programs at LMU’s main campus in Harrogate, and five extended learning sites. The ASN program is offered in Harrogate, Knoxville at Physicians Regional Medical Center (formerly Mercy Medical Center St. Mary’s), Blount County, Tenn., at Blount Memorial Hospital Alcoa City Center and in Corbin, Ky., at Baptist Regional Medical Center. The RN-BSN option is offered at the main campus in Harrogate and at LMU-Cedar Bluff in Knoxville, Tenn. The generic BSN option is offered at Harrogate and LMU-Cedar Bluff. The MSN in Family Nurse Practitioner is offered at Harrogate, LMU-Cedar Bluff and the Kingsport Center for Higher Education in Kingsport, Tenn. The MSN in Nurse Anesthesia is offered at Harrogate and the MSN in Psych Mental Health Nurse Practitioner is offered at LMU-Cedar Bluff.

Founded in 1897 as a living memorial to Abraham Lincoln, the 16th President of the United States, the University’s mission is to serve the Appalachian region by providing quality programs in higher education. Traditionally, the University has grown and expanded programs to areas with a demonstrated need and this proposed expansion is an extension of its mission. LMU launched its first nursing program in 1974, in part to fight the growing health care crisis across the region. Since the program’s inception, over 5,500 nursing graduates have joined the employment ranks and 68 percent of those graduates live and serve within 75 miles of LMU’s main campus in Harrogate. Nursing is now the largest undergraduate program at LMU.

LMU is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award associate, baccalaureate, masters, educational specialist and doctoral degrees. All of the programs of the Caylor School of Nursing have individual program accreditation/approval by various state and professional accrediting bodies.

Lincoln Memorial University is a values-based learning community dedicated to providing educational experiences in the liberal arts and professional studies. The main campus is located in Harrogate, Tennessee. For more information about the undergraduate and graduate programs available at LMU, contact the Office of Admissions at 423-869-6280 or e-mail at

- 30

<< previous page