November 19, 2012 - Dr. Sara Adams, a member of the Delta Mu Delta National Board, installed the Lincoln Memorial University (LMU) School of Business’ Mu Kappa Chapter, the 298th Chapter of Delta Mu Delta on Saturday. The ceremony also featured the induction of 19 students as the University’s inaugural members.

Founded in 1913 by faculty from New York University Harvard University and Yale University, Delta Mu Delta is an international honor society in business administration. The purpose of Delta Mu Delta is to promote higher scholarship in education and to recognize and reward scholastic attainment in business subjects.

Adams delivered the chapter charter to LMU President B. James Dawson and Dean of the School of Business Jack McCann. Following the installation of the new chapter, Adams inducted LMU’s honorary members including Dawson and McCann, Vice President for Academic Affairs Clayton Hess, Mrs. Rachel A. McDonnell, School of Business Alumna, undergraduate DMD Faculty Advisor and Assistant Professor of Computer Information Systems Sheree Schneider and graduate DMD Faculty Advisor, MBA Program Director and Associate Professor of Business Michael Dillon.

The academic standards of DMD reflect achievement of a distinctive order. To be selected as a candidate, students must have completed at least half of the work for their degree rank in the top 20% of their respective classes in cumulative grade average.

Inducted as inaugural members of the Mu Kappa Chapter of the Delta Mu Delta Honor Society at LMU were:

Lora Nichole Bohanan, Thomas David Adam Brambley, Noriko I. Chapman, Daniel Adam Cissna, Kari Mae Cox, Lieven T. Cox, Katherine Grace Crews, Deidre Lee Ratliff Donahue, Kelli Marie Duncan, Haley Brooke Effler, Mark Fugate, Kevin Lee Gordon, Taylor Nikkole Howard, Ashley Nichole Knight, Tyler Landrum, Patricia L. Mason, David Raymond McAndrews and Dwight David Padgett.

LMU’s School of Business is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP). ACBSP accreditation certifies that the teaching and learning processes within the LMU School of Business meet the rigorous educational standards established by ACBSP.

Lincoln Memorial University is a values-based learning community dedicated to providing educational experiences in the liberal arts and professional studies. The main campus is located in Harrogate, Tennessee. For more information about the undergraduate and graduate programs available at LMU, contact the Office of Admissions at 423-869-6280 or e-mail at

- 30 –

Caption: The inaugural members of the Mu Kappa Chapter of the Delta Mu Delta Honor Society at LMU.

<< previous page