May 20, 2011 - The faculty and administration of Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM) handed out several awards to members of the graduating class at its awards day ceremony on May 12.

The Dean’s Award went to Ian Huff of Nashville, Tenn. The Dean’s Award is presented to a member of the graduating class who displays a strong commitment to academic excellence, embodies empathy and compassion toward others, exemplifies personal integrity and professionalism and has earned the respect and trust of classmates and faculty.

The LMU-DCOM Community Service Award was presented to Jessica Chandler of Laurel, Miss., and Owen Vincent of Minneapolis, Minn. The award is given to students who exemplify the mission statement of LMU-DCOM in the following areas: serving the health and wellness needs of the people within both the Appalachian region and beyond; focusing on enhanced access to comprehensive health care for underserved communities; and embracing compassionate, patient-centered care that values diversity, public service and leadership as an enduring commitment to professionalism and the highest ethical standards. Chandler also received the Obstetrics/Gynecology Award, presented in recognition of the student who has displayed an outstanding commitment to assisting women achieve and maintain health and wellness. Vincent also received the Preventive Medicine, Public Health and Community Service Award, presented to an outstanding student who has made significant contributions to public health and preventative medicine through leadership, vision, originality and innovation.

The Valedictorian Award, for the graduate deemed to be the highest academically ranked student in the class, was presented to Scott Hughes of Alta Loma, Calif. The Salutatorian Award, for the graduate deemed to be the second highest academically ranked student in the class, was presented to Daniel Anderson of Tazewell, Tenn. Anderson was also named the Outstanding Molecular Fundamentals of Medicine Student and received the Scalpel Award for Excellence in Surgery. The former award is presented to the student having the highest combined average for the two Molecular Fundamentals of Medicine courses, and the latter is presented to a graduating student who has chosen to pursue a career in the surgical fields, and who has demonstrated excellence in the areas of patient care, academic excellence and technical prowess.

The Tennessee Osteopathic Medical Association (TOMA) Spirit of Excellence Award was presented to Gregory Nieckula of Highland, Ind. The award is presented annually to a graduating student who has achieved distinction among his or her peers through academic superiority, leadership qualities, community service and a commitment to serve the citizens of Tennessee.

Bryan Gibson of Greenville, S.C., received the award for Outstanding Anatomy Student. The award is given to a student who performs in the top 5% of the class academically and exhibits enthusiasm for the subject matter.

The Outstanding Osteopathic Principles and Practice Student award was given to Asim Ahmed of Fairborn, Ohio. The award is presented to the student who best exemplifies the practical implementation of osteopathic manipulation into the practice of medicine.

Meredith Potrzebowski of Marion, Ind., received the Family Medicine Award, presented to the student who best exemplifies what an osteopathic family physician should be. This individual has provided excellent care to a wide variety of patients with a multitude of clinical problems in a kind, concerned and professional manner, and has matched into a family practice residency.

The Internal Medicine Award went to Amanda Vanlandingham of New Tazewell, Tenn. The award honors one student who has shown uncommon interest and aptitude in the field of internal medicine.

Henry Knouse of Indianapolis, Ind., received the Pediatrics Award, presented to an outstanding student entering the field of pediatrics.

James Kowalczyk of Palos Heights, Ill., received the Emergency Medicine Award, presented to an outstanding student entering the field of emergency medicine.

The DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine is located on the campus of Lincoln Memorial University in Harrogate, Tennessee. LMU-DCOM is an integral part of LMU’s values-based learning community, and is dedicated to preparing the next generation of osteopathic physicians to provide health care in the often underserved region of Appalachia and beyond. For more information about LMU-DCOM, call 1-800-325-0900, ext. 7082, email, or visit us online at

<< previous page