May 26, 2011 - Christopher M. Perry, a fourth-year osteopathic medical student at Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine, has been named national director for 2011-2012 of Omega Beta Iota, the national osteopathic political action honor society.

Perry succeeds Owen Vincent, a 2011 graduate of LMU-DCOM, in the position. Perry’s appointment became official during the honor society’s meeting in conjunction with the annual D.O. Day on the Hill event in Washington, D.C., in April. During the meeting fourth-year LMU-DCOM student Seger Morris was inducted into Omega Beta Iota.

Perry is currently an Ensign in the United States Navy with ten years of military service to his credit. A native of Columbia, Tenn., Perry graduated from the U.S. Naval Academy in 1999 with a bachelor of science in history and later obtained his master of science in psychology degree from Walden University in 2006. He attended naval flight school and received his “Wings of Gold” in 2001. Perry was elected class president his first year of medical school and was chosen a Student of the Year by his peers in 2009.

The DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine is located on the campus of Lincoln Memorial University in Harrogate, Tennessee. LMU-DCOM is an integral part of LMU’s values-based learning community, and is dedicated to preparing the next generation of osteopathic physicians to provide health care in the often underserved region of Appalachia and beyond. For more information about LMU-DCOM, call 1-800-325-0900, ext. 7082, email, or visit us online at

- 30 –

Caption: (L-R): Fourth-year LMU-DCOM students Seger Morris and Christopher Perry with LMU-DCOM alumnus Owen Vincent at the Omega Beta Iota meeting in Washington, D.C., in April. Perry succeeds Vincent as national director of Omega Beta Iota.

<< previous page