February 20, 2013 - Dr. Howard S. Teitelbaum, professor of preventive medicine at Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM) in Harrogate, Tenn., has been named a Distinguished Fellow of the American Osteopathic College of Occupational and Preventive Medicine (AOCOPM).

The Distinguished Fellow of the AOCOPM has the following criteria: continuous participation in the activities of the AOCOPM for a minimum of 20 years; continuous attendance at the annual or mid-year meeting of the AOCOPM for a minimum of 20 years; and continuous membership in the American Osteopathic Association for a minimum of 20 years.

Teitelbaum has served as chair of several committees, vice president and president of the AOCOPM. He received his Fellowship award in 1992. He has also helped design the basic course in occupational and preventive medicine and has presented a session for that activity for over 15 consecutive years. Teitelbaum has presented at least one paper for the AOCOPM for over 20 consecutive years. His presentations have been recorded for College members’ use as a source of continuing education.

Teitelbaum was selected to give the W. Kenneth Riland Memorial Lecture in 1995 and the Murray Goldstein Commemorative Lecture for the College in 1992 and 2013. The W. Kenneth Riland Memorial Lecture and medal presentation is a key feature at the annual mid-year conference of the AOCOPM. Established in 1983, this prestigious lecture is presented by an individual, member or nonmember, who has demonstrated a desire to see the practice of occupational & preventive medicine excel for the public good. The Goldstein Lecture is a named lecture given at the spring convention of the AOCOPM by someone who exemplifies service in the field of Public Health & Preventive Medicine.

Teitelbaum is currently the vice chair of the American Osteopathic Board of Preventive Medicine and Chair of the Examination Committee. This committee is responsible for the development and administration of board certification examinations in aerospace medicine, preventive medicine and occupational medicine. Teitelbaum was also appointed to the rank of professor of the AOCOPM. This latter recognition is accorded to those who have demonstrated continuous quality lectures to the AOCOPM for at least ten years.

Teitelbaum has received numerous awards during his career as a medical educator. He received a Clinical Professor of the Year award from LMU-DCOM students for four consecutive years and received LMU’s Houston Award for Teaching Excellence in 2010. In 1995 he was selected for the American Osteopathic Association’s Mentor Hall of Fame and received the George W. Northup Educator of the Year Award from the national Student Osteopathic Medical Association in 2011.

Teitelbaum received his doctor of osteopathic medicine degree from Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine in East Lansing, Mich. He also holds a master of public health degree from Harvard University, a Ph.D. and M.A. from Michigan State University and a B.S. from California State Polytechnic College in Pomona, Calif. His research interests are preventive medicine, public health and medical education.

The DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine is located on the campus of Lincoln Memorial University in Harrogate, Tennessee. LMU-DCOM is an integral part of LMU’s values-based learning community, and is dedicated to preparing the next generation of osteopathic physicians to provide health care in the often underserved region of Appalachia and beyond. For more information about LMU-DCOM, call 1-800-325-0900, ext. 7082, email, or visit us online at

- 30 –

Caption: Dr. Howard S. Teitelbaum

<< previous page