May 9, 2013 - Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM) awarded its Student of the Year and Faculty Member of the Year awards at its recent Spring Gala in Knoxville, Tenn.

The Student of the Year Awards for the Class of 2015 went to Lauren Fox of Crossville, Tenn., and Brendan Williams of Jamestown, Tenn. Fox received her B.A. in audiology from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Williams received his B.S. in biochemistry and cellular and molecular biology cum laude from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

The Class of 2015 selected Dr. Theresa Campbell, associate professor of pathology, as Basic Science Faculty Member of the Year and Dr. John Williamson, assistant professor and chair of OB/GYN, as Clinical Faculty Member of the Year. Williamson also serves as director of international medicine.

The Student of the Year Awards for the Class of 2016 went to Jaclyn Urquiola of Miami, Fla., and Dru Morgan of Wise, Va. Urquiola received her B.S. in integrative science from the University of Florida. Morgan received his associate degree in basic sciences from Mountain Empire Community College and his B.A. in biology magna cum laude from the University of Virginia’s College at Wise.

The Class of 2016 selected Dr. Jonathan Leo, professor of neuroanatomy as Basic Science Faculty Member of the Year and Dr. Howard S. Teitelbaum, professor and chair of preventive medicine, as Clinical Faculty Member of the Year. Leo also serves as associate dean of students for LMU-DCOM and assistant VP for admissions and student services for the division of health sciences.

Joey Starke of Jackson, Mo., was chosen as Anatomy/Osteopathic Principles and Practice Fellow of the Year. Starke received his B.A. degree magna cum laude in biology and theological studies from Saint Louis University. The fellowship program is designed to expand the educational opportunities for selected students with guided learning experiences in the areas of medical education, research, osteopathic principles and practices and anatomy while they assist in all phases of the departments’ operation. They assist in lecturing, teaching of practical skills and counseling of the first and second year students.

Student of the Year, Faculty Member of the Year and Fellow of the Year awards are chosen by the students of LMU-DCOM.

Fourth-year osteopathic medical student Chelsea Nickolson of Genoa, Ill., was recognized for being selected as Student Doctor of the Year (SDOY) for LMU-DCOM. SDOY is a program of the Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents (COSGP). The primary focus of the award is to acknowledge students’ commitment to their school, their community and the osteopathic profession.

The DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine is located on the campus of Lincoln Memorial University in Harrogate, Tennessee. LMU-DCOM is an integral part of LMU’s values-based learning community, and is dedicated to preparing the next generation of osteopathic physicians to provide health care in the often underserved region of Appalachia and beyond. For more information about LMU-DCOM, call 1-800-325-0900, ext. 7082, email, or visit us online at

- 30

<< previous page