May 14, 2013 - The members of the Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM) Class of 2013 celebrated their graduation on Saturday, May 11, 2013. Dr. Ray E. Stowers, founding dean of LMU-DCOM and 2012-2013 president of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), delivered the commencement address.

During the ceremony LMU-DCOM honored Gary J. Burchett, second vice chairman of the LMU Board of Trustees, with the Distinguished Service Award. The Distinguished Service Award is presented to an individual who holds service to humanity close to his or her heart and who has had a significant impact on the health and wellness of those within both the Appalachian region and beyond.

“In his role as a member of the LMU Board of Trustees, Gary Burchett helped to spearhead the initiative to bring the DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine to life on the LMU campus,” said Dr. Michael Wieting, interim dean of LMU-DCOM. “He has remained a friend to and champion of the medical school since its inception.”

During the ceremony Stowers was presented with the Algernon Sidney Sullivan award, which is given to encourage and recognize individuals who exemplify thoughtfulness of others as a guiding philosophy throughout life. It is awarded to someone who, through leadership and devotion to his country, has made an outstanding contribution either to the local community or the area in which he serves.

The award is made possible through the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation, located in Oxford, Miss. Its purpose is to promote service to others and to the broader community. These values were exemplified by Algernon and Mary Mildred Sullivan, the parents of the organization’s founder. Lincoln Memorial University has held a strong relationship with the Foundation for nearly 50 years and is one of a select few institutions to grant the award each year.

LMU-DCOM has placed 100% of its graduating class into postgraduate training programs. Of the graduating class, sixty-one percent (61%) were placed into osteopathic residency programs. Twenty-eight percent accepted residency positions with allopathic programs and 11% are going into military programs. The members of the Class of 2013 will be in 107 different residency programs in 33 states.

The DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine is located on the campus of Lincoln Memorial University in Harrogate, Tennessee. LMU-DCOM is an integral part of LMU’s values-based learning community, and is dedicated to preparing the next generation of osteopathic physicians to provide health care in the often underserved region of Appalachia and beyond. For more information about LMU-DCOM, call 1-800-325-0900, ext. 7082, email, or visit us online at

- 30

<< previous page