May 30, 2014 - Several faculty and staff members at Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM) received awards during the school’s awards ceremony prior to the Class of 2014 graduation ceremony earlier this month.

Dr. Michael P. Seaman, associate professor of emergency medicine/family medicine and director of the Simulation Lab, received the Bob Jackson Service Award. The LMU-DCOM inaugural class established the Bob Jackson Service Award to recognize those whose life and community service clearly exemplify a true spirit of love and helpfulness to others. The Award is meant to recognize those who demonstrate qualities such as a significant contribution to public service, giving of themselves regardless of compensation, providing services without expectation of remuneration, going above and beyond a job description and giving a great service to LMU-DCOM. The award was presented by LMU-DCOM Class of 2014 President Kevin Cope and Vice President Matthew Nealeigh.

Shelley McClelland, clinical didactics administrative coordinator, received the Staff Recognition Award. The award description states: “The LMU-DCOM success is dependent on individuals who are dedicated to making people matter. Much of the work of turning ideas and programs into reality falls on the shoulders of the staff of this medical school. This award is an attempt to recognize and show appreciation for those individuals who are vital to the mission of our College. These individuals are the staff of LMU-DCOM. It is their day-to-day efforts and their positive attitude that encourages students, eases the life of the faculty and creates a positive environment in which to work.” The award was presented by Dr. Howard S. Teitelbaum, professor and chair of preventive medicine.

On behalf of the LMU-DCOM Alumni Association, Dr. David Heath, alumni association president, and Dr. Elizabeth Brewer, alumni association secretary, presented Dr. Michael Wieting, senior associate dean, with the Dr. Ray E. Stowers Legacy Award. The Dr. Ray E. Stowers Legacy Award serves to recognize academic teaching excellence in medical education at LMU-DCOM. The award was established by the Inaugural LMU-DCOM Alumni Association and is presented annually to a recipient who has dedicated themselves to serving the underserved of rural Appalachia and “Continuing the Legacy” of the institution, as stated on the LMU-DCOM seal.

Dr. Burt Routman, professor and chairman emeritus of family medicine, and Teitelbaum were named Honorary Members of the LMU-DCOM Alumni Association. The Board of Directors of the LMU-DCOM Alumni Association shall designate individuals who, by virtue of office, accomplishment or outstanding contribution to the medical school or the field of osteopathic medicine to become honorary members of the alumni association. Honorary members shall have the same constituent association rights and privileges as alumni members except they may neither vote, hold office, nor serve on the Board of Directors of the association and shall not be required to pay dues. Heath and Brewer presented the awards.

The DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine is located on the campus of Lincoln Memorial University in Harrogate, Tennessee. LMU-DCOM is an integral part of LMU’s values-based learning community, and is dedicated to preparing the next generation of osteopathic physicians to provide health care in the often underserved region of Appalachia and beyond. For more information about LMU-DCOM, call 1-800-325-0900, ext. 7108, email, or visit us online at

- 30 –

Caption 1: Shelley McClelland, LMU-DCOM clinical didactics administrative coordinator (R), receives the LMU-DCOM Staff Recognition Award from Dr. Howard S. Teitelbaum, professor and chair of preventive medicine (L).

<< previous page