May 7, 2008 - Harrogate, Tennessee, May 7, 2008 – Dr. Ray Stowers, vice president and dean of Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM), was awarded the A. T. Still Award of Excellence by the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association (OOA) during the group’s 108th Annual Convention, held in Oklahoma City at the end of April.

The award, named for A. T. Still, MD, DO, the founder of osteopathic medicine, is presented to the osteopathic physician that most exemplifies and helps to preserve the teachings and philosophy of osteopathic medicine. Stowers, a past president of the OOA, received this honor for his life’s work in osteopathic medicine, and his focus on learning, following and teaching the philosophy of its founder. He was also recognized for his commitment to increasing the osteopathic physician population through his dedication as vice president and dean of LMU-DCOM.

A graduate of Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences College of Osteopathic Medicine in Kansas City, Mo., Dr. Stowers previously served as assistant dean for Rural Health at Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine in Tulsa, Okla. He is a member of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) Board of Trustees Executive Committee, serves on numerous committees and chairs the AOA Department of Business Affairs and the AOA Department of Quality, Research and Public Affairs. Dr. Stowers is a distinguished fellow of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians (ACOFP) and was named ACOFP Physician of the Year in 2006.

The DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine is located on the campus of Lincoln Memorial University in Harrogate, Tennessee. LMU-DCOM is an integral part of LMU’s values-based learning community, and is dedicated to preparing the next generation of osteopathic physicians to provide healthcare in the often underserved region of Appalachia and beyond. For more information about LMU-DCOM, call 1-800-325-0900, ext. 7082, e-mail, or visit us online at

– 30

<< previous page