Trent Howard.


December 18, 2008 - Harrogate, Tennessee, December 18, 2008 – Trent Howard, a second-year osteopathic medical student at Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM), has been named a 2009 Rural Health Fellow by the National Rural Health Association (NRHA).

Howard, of Cynthiana, Ky., is one of 12 individuals nationwide named Fellows by the NRHA following a competitive review process. The program is a year-long, intensive program aimed at developing leaders who can articulate a clear and compelling vision for rural America. Fellows will gain valuable insights and build critical skills in three primary areas: personal, team and organizational leadership; health policy analysis and advocacy; and NRHA governance and structure. This is the third year for the Rural Health Fellows Program. Fellows participate in monthly conference calls on rural health issues and complete a final project on rural health.

The 2009 Rural Health Fellows Program will commence at the January meeting of the Rural Health Policy Institute in Washington, D.C. Howard is the only medical student in this year’s Rural Health Fellows Program. Other Fellows include a hospital CEO from Michigan, a nursing department chair and professor from North Dakota, and a dentist with the American Dental Association.

“Before I came to LMU-DCOM I was a tobacco farmer and a paramedic, and my undergraduate degree is in agricultural economics,” said Howard. “This is a good way to link my interest in rural economics and healthcare.”

“We at LMU-DCOM are very proud that Trent will be serving as a Rural Health Fellow in 2009,” said Dr. Ray E. Stowers, vice president and dean of LMU-DCOM. “It is important for our students to understand the breadth of issues involved in the rural health care crisis. I know Trent will learn a great deal that he can also share with his peers.”

Howard received his undergraduate degree from the University of Kentucky. He serves as president of the Internal Medicine Club at LMU-DCOM.

The NRHA is a national nonprofit membership organization with more than 18,000 members. The association’s mission is to provide leadership on rural health issues. The NRHA membership is made up of a diverse collection of individuals and organizations, all of whom share the common bond of an interest in rural health.

The DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine is located on the campus of Lincoln Memorial University in Harrogate, Tennessee. LMU-DCOM is an integral part of LMU’s values-based learning community, and is dedicated to preparing the next generation of osteopathic physicians to provide healthcare in the often underserved region of Appalachia and beyond. For more information about LMU-DCOM, call 1-800-325-0900, ext. 7082, e-mail, or visit us online at

- 30

<< previous page