April 21, 2006 - Harrogate, Tennessee, April 21, 2006—Ray E. Stowers, DO, FACOFP was named as the American College of Osteopathic Family Physician’s 2006 Family Physician of the Year at the group’s 43rd Annual Convention and Exhibition held in Grapevine, Texas.

Dr. Stowers is the Vice President and Dean of Lincoln Memorial University’s proposed DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine. He was honored for the contributions he has made to his patients, community and the profession of osteopathic family medicine. ACOPFP President Thomas N. Told, DO, FACOFP, presented Dr. Stowers with the award.

Dr. Stowers accepted the helm of the LMU-DCOM in September and has since guided the University’s efforts to pre-accreditation status with the American Osteopathic Association’s Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (AOA COCA). The proposed college of osteopathic medicine is currently pursuing provisional accreditation. Once that is achieved, it can then recruit students and faculty.

Prior to his appointment as Dean of the LMU-DCOM, Dr. Stowers practiced as a rural physician in Medford, Oklahoma, for twenty-five years and was an Associate Professor of Family Medicine and Director of the Division of Rural Health at Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine in Tulsa, Oklahoma. He was also the Director of the Oklahoma Rural Health Policy and Research Center.

His leadership positions have been extensive, including President of the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association, Past Member of the Board of Trustees of ACOFP, and Commissioner and Chairman of the Oklahoma Physician Manpower Training Commission. He currently serves on the American Osteopathic Association’s Board of Trustees and Council on Federal Health Programs. He has also served as Chairman of the OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine Advisory Council. He is currently a Commissioner on the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC), advising Congress on Medicare issues.

Dr. Stowers received his medical degree from the University of Health Sciences, College of Osteopathic Medicine, in Kansas City, Missouri in 1973. He performed his internship at Tulsa Regional Medical Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma, and joined the ACOFP in 1974. Dr. Stowers received his designation as a Fellow of the ACOFP in 1988 and was a member of the first class of Distinguished Fellows in 2004.

Lincoln Memorial University is a values-based learning community dedicated to providing educational experiences in the liberal arts and professional studies. The main campus is located in Harrogate, Tennessee. For more information about the undergraduate and graduate programs available at LMU, contact the Office of Admissions at 423-869-6280 or e-mail at

<< previous page