August 4, 2009 - Harrogate, Tennessee, August 4, 2009 – Dr. R. Christopher Yonts, assistant professor of family medicine at Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM), was recently awarded the 2009 Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM) Resident Teacher Award by the Family Practice Residency Program at the University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine in Knoxville, Tenn.

The STFM Resident Teacher Award recognizes teaching contributions by residents. Each family practice residency program can give this award annually to the resident who has demonstrated an interest, ability and commitment to family medicine education. The award recipient is selected by the residency program faculty.

Yonts received his D.O. degree from Pikeville College School of Osteopathic Medicine in Pikeville, Ky., and his undergraduate degree from LMU. In addition to his teaching duties at LMU-DCOM, Yonts serves as the Medical Director for the LMU-DCOM Department of Outpatient Services.

The DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine is located on the campus of Lincoln Memorial University in Harrogate, Tennessee. LMU-DCOM is an integral part of LMU’s values-based learning community, and is dedicated to preparing the next generation of osteopathic physicians to provide healthcare in the often underserved region of Appalachia and beyond. For more information about LMU-DCOM, call 1-800-325-0900, ext. 7082, e-mail, or visit us online at

- 30 –

Caption: Dr. R. Christopher Yonts.

<< previous page