March 31, 2010 - Dr. Burt Routman, professor and chair of family medicine at Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM), was honored with the 2010 Distinguished Service Award by the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians (ACOFP) at its annual conference held recently in Las Vegas, Nev.

The award was given in recognition of outstanding dedication and support for the profession of osteopathic family medicine by Dr. Jan Zieran, outgoing president of ACOFP. ACOFP Distinguished Service Awards are selected by the ACOFP President to recognize significant volunteer contributions during the previous year through committee service or other initiatives. Routman was previously honored with the Distinguished Service Award in 2008.

Routman has been a member of ACOFP for 35 years and has held committee and leadership positions in the organization for more than 20 years. During the annual convention, Routman was appointed Chair of the Program Committee and Board Representative to the National Student ACOFP. Routman is also a Distinguished Fellow in the ACOFP.

Routman received his undergraduate degree from The Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Md., and his osteopathic medical degree from Des Moines University-College of Osteopathic Medicine (DMU-COM). Before establishing a private family practice, Routman served in the U.S. Air Force as flight surgeon for the Thunderbirds. Routman taught at DMU-COM and Western University of Health Sciences in Pomona, Calif., before joining the LMU-DCOM faculty in 2006.

The DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine is located on the campus of Lincoln Memorial University in Harrogate, Tennessee. LMU-DCOM is an integral part of LMU’s values-based learning community, and is dedicated to preparing the next generation of osteopathic physicians to provide healthcare in the often underserved region of Appalachia and beyond. For more information about LMU-DCOM, call 1-800-325-0900, ext. 7082, e-mail, or visit us online at

- 30 –

Caption: Dr. Burt Routman.

<< previous page