March 18, 2011 - Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM) awarded its Student of the Year and Faculty Member of the Year awards at its recent Spring Gala in Knoxville, Tenn.

The Student of the Year Awards for the Class of 2013 went to Ashley Dunn of Mineral Wells, W. Va., and Souleymane Diallo of Fafaya, Guinea. Dunn received her undergraduate degree from West Virginia University in Morgantown, W.Va. Diallo received his undergraduate degree from LMU.

The Student of the Year Awards for the Class of 2014 went to Audrey Smith of Dover, Tenn., and Jason Greenhagen of Dickson, Tenn. Smith and Greenhagen both received their undergraduate degrees from the University of Tennessee at Martin. The Student of the Year Awards were chosen by the student body of each class.

The Class of 2013 selected LMU-DCOM faculty members Dr. James Foster and Dr. Teresa Campbell as Professors of the Year. Foster, a professor of anatomy/histology, was named the Basic Medical Science Professor of the Year. Campbell, an associate professor of pathology, was named the Clinical Science Professor of the Year.

The Class of 2014 selected LMU-DCOM faculty members Dr. Jonathan Leo, Dr. Howard S. Teitelbaum and Dr. Michael Wieting as Professors of the Year. Leo, a professor of neuroanatomy, was named Basic Medical Science Professor of the Year. Leo also serves as associate dean of students. Teitelbaum, a professor of preventive medicine and chair of preventive and community medicine and Wieting, a professor of physical medicine and rehabilitation/osteopathic principles and practice, were named the Clinical Science Professors of the Year. Wieting also serves as director of program development.

Third-year osteopathic medical student Melanie McClain of Memphis, Tenn., was recognized for being selected as Student Doctor of the Year (SDOY) for LMU-DCOM. SDOY is a program of the Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents (COSGP). The primary focus of the award is to acknowledge students’ commitment to their school, their community, and the osteopathic profession.

The DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine is located on the campus of Lincoln Memorial University in Harrogate, Tennessee. LMU-DCOM is an integral part of LMU’s values-based learning community, and is dedicated to preparing the next generation of osteopathic physicians to provide healthcare in the often underserved region of Appalachia and beyond. For more information about LMU-DCOM, call 1-800-325-0900, ext. 7082, e-mail, or visit us online at

<< previous page